There are a number of reasons you might want to delete an Artisan project.  Maybe you have printed the project and no longer need it taking up space on your computer. Perhaps you had a few versions of one project and you really only need the most recent one. Whatever the reason, you may have noticed that there is no “Delete” button inside the program. The only way to delete a project is to find the file in Windows and delete it from there.

Every project in Artisan lives in a Windows folder  with the same name as your project. So to delete a project, the first step is to find that folder.

Step 1 : Locate Your Project

  1. With your project open, click on File, then Properties.
  2. Look for the section headed Project (about half way down the screen).
  3. In that section, under Location, you will see the location of your project.

Another way to find the location of a project is to hover over the name of the project in the little tabs at the top of the workspace. If you wait a few seconds, the path name should pop up.

Step 2 : Go to the File Location

  1. Open File Explorer, and go to that location. In this example, my Ireland project is in a folder called Personal Projects, inside a folder called Projects, on my D drive.
  2. Inside that location you will find a folder with the same name as your project. This folder contains your project file, and all the pages and images that your project contains.

Step 3 : Delete the project

Make extra sure that you are deleting the correct folder!

To delete the project, select the project folder and hit the delete key on your keyboard, or right-click and select delete.

Step 4: Empty the Recycle Bin

Deleting moves the project into your Windows Recycle Bin. To delete it completely from your computer, you alo need to empty the Recycle Bin. To do that, locate the Recycle bin in Explorer, but DO NOT open it. Right-click and choose Empty Recycle Bin.

If you have trouble emptying the Recycle Bin (it happens sometimes) try the following

  • Restart the computer, and BEFORE you do anything else, right-click on the Recycle Bin and choose Empty Recycle Bin.
  • If it is still not working, restart your computer in Safe Mode, and then you will be able to empty the recycle bin. You’ll find instructions HERE for restarting in Safe Mode.

 

Share →

10 Responses to Artisan 5 Tip: How to Delete Projects

  1. Andrea Gearing says:

    I am following the instructions, type in the address correctly, but when I press delete it gives me a Folder Access Denied message saying that I need permission from DESKTOP-FOEFUPT\Admin to make changes to this folder.

  2. Marla James says:

    Although I only work in Artisan 5 now, I would like to go back and delete a few projects from Artisan 4. Would these instructions apply to Artisan 4 as well as 5? Thanks, Shelley.

    • Shelley says:

      Yes they will. Your projects are not stored within Artisan, but in folders on your computer, so you can delete them the same way regardless of which version they were created in.

  3. Terry Vachowski says:

    I’ve just recently discovered there are also recycle bins on my external hard drives too, where I keep all my books, content, and photos. I’ve been too afraid to empty the bin while these are plugged into my laptop. Would these also empty if they are plugged in and is it safe to do that?

  4. Ann Opdycke says:

    The one step I was unaware of was right clicking the Recycle Bin without opening it. My deleted project is finally gone from the Recycle Bin! Thank you, Shelley!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.