When you open Artisan 5 you have all the tools, buttons, and features that you need to create your projects. But occasionally you might find yourself looking “under the hood” – in the Windows folders that contain all your project files – and wonder what everything is and why it is there.
This information is for those who are curious about the files that they find. There is rarely any need to look inside the folders, so I am not advocating that you go off exploring now! It is vital that you do not move, delete, rename, or in any way alter the files from within Windows – this may corrupt the entire project and make it unusable.
Projects are stored in a folder on your computer. If you don’t know where that folder is, you’ll find it by opening your project and clicking File > Properties.
The entire project is contained in a folder with the same name as your project. So in this example, my project, which is called Ireland is in a folder called Ireland. It is in the “Projects” folder, in a folder called “Personal Projects”.
When you open that folder you will find the following files and folders:
- These are your project pages themselves.
- The strange names (mixtures of letters and numbers are generated by the software and must not be changed.
- If you move, delete or rename any of these files Artisan will give you error messages because it can’t find the pages.
- This is the file that contains all the information that makes a project a project, rather than just a folder full of pages.
- Sometimes referred to as the manifest file
- All the images that you have imported into the project are kept in this folder.
- These are copies of the images – your originals are still in their original location.
- If you have deleted any pages, they are stored in the Recycle Folder.
- If you have not deleted any pages, there won’t be a recycle folder.
- The files within the Proprties folder comprise the “memory” of Artisan 5.
- Artisan 5 remembers your previous settings, and these settings are hidden in the Properties folder.
- There’s never any reason to open that folder unless instructed by FOREVER support staff.
- This is a backup copy of your project manifest file.
- This is an automatically generated backup file and should never be touched.
- These are backup copies of your pages.
- If you have “Save a backup when saving changes to a page” enabled then you will have a matching .artpage.bak file for each .artpage. (Under Help >Options > Page Editing)
WHICH FILES ARE SAFE TO DELETE?
My recommendation is not to delete any of these files until your project is completed and printed. However if you are running out of space there are some files that can be safely deleted without compromising your project. These files are:
- The pages in the Recycle Folder. Obviously if you delete these, you can no longer recover those pages, but if that is not important, they can be permanently deleted.
- The .artpage.bak files. These are a good idea to keep but not essential, especially if you have another form of backup, or have printed the project.
- No other files should be opened, moved, deleted, edited or in any other way manipulated, unless you are ready to delete the entire project from your computer.
The above files refer to projects created in FOREVER Artisan 5. If you have an old project that was previously created in an earlier version of the software, you might have the following file equivalents:
|ARTISAN 5||ARTISAN 4||SBC 4||SBC 3|
|.artpage files||.papage files||.sbpage files||.page files|